A jolly good Fellow

Fiona Shelton, Dean of Students at Bondholder the University of Derby, is to receive a National Teaching Fellowship – the most prestigious individual award in higher education.

Fiona, who began her career in higher education in 2003, has been awarded the accolade in recognition of her contribution to teaching excellence at the University.

Fiona, who is also Head of the University’s Centre for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (CELT), joins five of her University of Derby colleagues who already hold National Teaching Fellowships:

Paula Shaw, Academic Manager, University of Derby Online – awarded in 2018
Professor Malcolm Todd, Provost (Academic) – awarded in 2014
Dr Ian Turner, Associate Professor in Learning and Teaching – awarded in 2014
Professor Dennis Hayes, Professor of Education – awarded in 2010
Professor James Elander, Head of the Centre for Psychological Research – awarded in 2004
Fiona joined the University of Derby as a senior lecturer in Initial Teacher Education (ITE), having spent ten years as a primary school teacher in the city.

Fiona said: “I am absolutely delighted to receive the Fellowship because it is a recognition of my commitment to education, but also of how the University encourages and promotes teaching excellence and how it is improving the educational experience for all of our students.